Facebook Warns Adobe Users to Change Passwords

As the news of the Adobe leak continues to worsen by the day, Facebook has taken a pro-active approach to preventing the same issues on their servers in Palo Alto.

After downloading the password files of Adobe themselves, engineers for the social networking site ran a cross-check of every username/email/password combination in the bank, and realized a majority of the people who had their information stolen in the original heist were also at risk of having their Facebook accounts compromised as well.

Facebook spokesman Jay Nancarrow explained in an interview with Krebs magazine that his company has responded in a similar manner to other high-profile hacks.

“We actively look for situations where the accounts of people who use Facebook could be at risk – even if the threat is external to our service,” he explained.

Krebs

It’s well known in the information security world that password re-use is rife and a major problem because any breach at one online service provider potentially exposes accounts held by the same people at other service providers. It’s child play for crooks to try leaked credentials on other (possibly more sensitive) sites. Facebook is not saying how many of its users are getting the login credentials re-use warning.

Taking pre-emptive steps to protecting your password and login credentials is just the start, of course. Other methods of making sure your data stays safe include using a VPN, short for virtual private network, to keep intruders out and all your most important files and communications in.

Private Internet Access is a leading provider of anonymity services on the web, and if you sign up now you can start using their VPN tunnel services for only $3.33 per month, one of the best budget options in the business!